Posted in Uncategorized

Book-o-tions!

Image

Know how you feel while reading a good book’s climax? Just few days ago, I finished Sophie Kinsella’s ‘I have got your number’. I couldn’t put it down even for a second! That’s when it occurred to me! All the emotions we feel while reading a book…they surely must be called something (I don’t know if they are 😛 )….that’s when I decided to call them ‘book-o-tions’.

As many of you must know, reading a good book is a roller-coaster ride…at least for me it is. Never(or seldom) have I felt similar excitement than when reading a book¹. When you are reading a book,(unless you have read many books of the same genre by the same author and even then sometimes) there is no predicting the end. Not that nobody tries there hand at it(and I assure you, it’s a healthy practice). A lot of us come up with our own happy/ sad ending and sometimes that’s exactly what happens too! Yet the anticipation, the uncertainty of the direction the story might take keeps me on tenterhooks.The best part of it all is when I start reading something out loud, start laughing randomly, or start speaking to myself as a reaction to the story² ! The ups and downs makes my heart jump and honestly, that’s exactly what I enjoy most.

When I watch something, sure I do get overcome by emotions at times but not often. Romantic lines sound cheesy on TV while in writing they turn me to mush! Obviously though, not all books are as fetching. Some just don’t give you the satisfaction you were looking for and are a huge disappointment³. In the end, it all depends on the choice you make. Sometimes you have to pull up the courage and grab a book. It’s almost like choosing food you don’t know about and the uncertainty of how it might taste and whether it will be a waste of time and money. Like Sir Francis Bacon said :

Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested

Only thing is I am not so sure if he wanted me to swallow Sophie Kinsella’s book or chew and digest it! o.0 Anyway, advice is don’t judge the book by the cover. I know it’s against human nature (heck, I do it myself at times!) but we can always try!

¹ Well, I am deviant. Many of us are, I am sure ( self consolation). So instead of going completely off topic I decided to make footnotes and guess who did I learn this from…Sophie Kinsella! The reason for this particular one is I am too lazy to add that I love reading books too in my blog description so I made a footnote!

²Which reminds me…Once I was sitting in a class which a substitute teacher was monitoring. I took out a book to read (I think it was Harry Potter) and started laughing randomly at something I had read..out loud…I didn’t stop even after I had realized what I had done! The teacher had to shush me!

³Like the next Sophie Kinsella I read: Can you keep a Secret? It wasn’t a huge disappointment but it wasn’t amazing….You know, not up to my expectations.

Author:

A med-student in her early 20's sharing her ups and downs and basically life as it happens :)

Leave a Reply

